Veronika Pausova

Reversible Lining

11.11 – 18.12 2021
Reversible Lining

November 11 to December 18, 2021

I read a story about the poet Percey Shelley, husband of Mary Shelley, ages ago when I was reading about the history of the vampire. The story is that Percey, Mary, and some other famous writers and artists were holidaying together in an old castle and telling each other scary stories. Percey got scared by one of these stories and ran out of the sitting room screaming. He’d imagined that one of the women in the sitting room had eyes on her breasts. I’m not sure where I read it, but I loved this idea that breasts could look back under the male gaze.

 – Veronika Pausova

Veronika Pausova is a short storyteller, if a story’s parts could be disarranged and filed into paintings that start at the front and get told to the back.

One shoe pins down another shoe, flattens it. The two form a tense negotiation between the real world and the imagined. They distinguish their own planetary existence as they arbitrate beneath the moon. Players variously shimmer and recede, shuttling us between blueprint, shadow, and landscape. Two of the biggest paintings (what Pausova calls “thin coverings,” for their outdoor, additive process) feature sprinklers that mist the scene, crude cloud-makers that mechanically water but also paint the landscape in which they swim. The colours sprout from their own font and justify their own flood. A story gets told like this, and understood: one thing couldn’t arrive without all the parts that come before it. But neither could these parts exist without the ones that end.

A series of breasts arrive fully frottaged, tasselled, and winged. They are self-presenting: their ludic faces foreclose against ours – detecting us instead. A script-reversal, then. In Two Help, Two Cradle, a set of rubber-gloved hands perilously catch the world like a soapy plate. These hands are themselves marionetted by another set, their precarious handling edging in from a before-place – a place before the thighs that threaten to part the universe. What begins this, or finishes it? Whatever story cascades the frame.

– Sky Goodden

Veronika Pausova was born in Prague, Czech Republic and lives and works in Toronto, Canada. She received her BFA from Glasgow School of Art in 2009 and her MFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2013. She has presented solo and two-person exhibitions at the Sunday Painter in London (UK), Simone Subal in New York (USA), Hunt Kastner in Prague (Czech Republic), Franz Kaka in Toronto (Canada), Tatjana Pieters in Ghent (Belgium), Motel Gallery in Brooklyn (USA) and SARDINE Gallery in Brooklyn (USA). Pausova has been included in group exhibitions at the Remai Modern in Saskatoon (Canada), Oakville Galleries in Oakville (Canada), Andrehn Schiptjenko in Stockholm (Sweden), Peana Projects in Monterrey (Mexico), and Bureau in New York (USA). Veronika Pausova will have her first North American Institutional solo exhibition opening in January 2022 at the Esker Foundation (Calgary).

To consult the artist’s profile, please click here.

Additional images to come

Veronika Pausova

Reversible Lining

11.11 – 18.12 2021
Reversible Lining

11 novembre au 18 décembre, 2021

Il y a longtemps, j’ai lu une anecdote concernant le poète Percey Shelley, le mari de Mary Shelley, alors que je lisais sur l’histoire des vampires. Dans ce récit, Percey, Mary et d’autres écrivain.e.s et artistes célèbres passaient leurs vacances ensemble dans un vieux château et se racontaient des histoires effrayantes. L’une d’elles avait terrorisé Percey, qui avait alors couru hors du salon en hurlant. Il avait imaginé qu’une des femmes dans le salon avait des yeux sur ses seins. Je ne me rappelle plus où j’ai lu cette histoire, mais j’avais adoré cette idée que les seins pourraient renvoyer le regard masculin.

 – Veronika Pausova

Veronika Pausova est une conteuse; si les parties d’une histoire pouvaient être entremêlées et réparties au sein de peintures qui se liraient du premier plan jusqu’à l’arrière.

Une chaussure épingle une autre chaussure, l’aplatit. Elles façonnent une négociation tendue entre les mondes réels et imaginés. Leur propre existence planétaire se démarque par leur arbitrage sous la lune. Les joueurs scintillent et reculent de diverses manières, oscillant entre le plan, les ombres et le paysage. L’une des plus grandes peintures (que Pausova appelle thin coverings en raison de son processus de création additif prenant partiellement part à l’extérieur) donne à voir des gicleurs qui embrument la scène, des générateurs de nuages bruts qui arrosent mécaniquement, mais peignent également le paysage dans lequel ils baignent. Les couleurs jaillissent de leur cadre et justifient leurs propres flux. Ainsi est racontée et comprise une histoire: une chose ne pourrait arriver sans tous les éléments qui la précèdent, mais ceux-ci ne pourraient non plus exister sans ceux qui se terminent.

Une série de seins apparaissent : frottés, décorés de pompons ou ailés. Ils se présentent d’eux-mêmes: leurs visages ludiques se rapprochent du nôtre – c’est sur nous que leur regard se pose. Un renversement de scénario, donc. Dans Two Help, Two Cradle, des mains gantées de caoutchouc attrapent dangereusement le monde comme une assiette savonneuse. Ces mains sont elles-mêmes les marionnettes d’un autre jeu, leur manipulation précaire émergeant d’un avant-lieu – un lieu entre des cuisses qui menacent de séparer l’univers. Qu’est-ce qui commence ou finit ? Quelle que soit l’histoire, le cadre devient cascade.

 Traduction d’un texte de Sky Goodden

Veronika Pausova est née à Prague en République tchèque et vit et travaille à Toronto, Canada. Elle détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de la Glasgow School of Art (2009) et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de la Virginia Commonwealth University (2013). Elle a présenté des exposition solos et duos à The Sunday Painter à Londres (UK), Simone Subal à New York (USA), Hunt Kastner à Prague (République Tchèque), Franz Kaka à Toronto (Canada), Tatjana Pieters à Gand (Belgique), Motel Gallery à Brooklyn (USA) et SARDINE Gallery à Brooklyn (USA). Pausova a participé à de nombreuses expositions de groupe, notamment au Remai Modern à Saskatoon (Canada), Oakville Galleries à Oakville (Canada), Schiptjenko à Stockholm (Suède), Peana Projects à Monterrey (Mexique) et à Bureau à New York (USA). Veronika Pausova présentera sa première exposition muséale nord-américaine à compter de janvier 2022 à la Esker Foundation (Calgary).

Pour consulter le profil de l’artiste, veuillez cliquer ici.

Plus d’images à venir