The Armory Show 2020

5.03 – 8.03 2020
The Armory Show 2020

SHARY BOYLE
JANE CORRIGAN

Pier 94
PRESENTS – Booth P8

March 5 – 8, 2020
711 12th Avenue
New York, NY 10019

For its first participation to The Armory Show, Bradley Ertaskiran is proud to present recent works by Toronto based Shary Boyle and New York based artist Jane Corrigan.

SHARY BOYLE works across diverse media, including sculpture, drawing, installation and performance. Her work considers the social history of ceramic figurines, animist mythologies and folk art forms to create a symbolic, feminist and politically charged language uniquely her own. Highly crafted and deeply imaginative, Boyle’s practice is activated through collaboration and mentorship.

Boyle is exhibited and collected internationally. In 2017 her sculptures were featured in South Korea’s Gyeonggi International Ceramic Biennale, and the Phaidon, UK publication Vitamin C: Clay and Ceramic in Contemporary Art. Shary Boyle is the recipient of the Hnatyshyn Foundation Award and the Gershon Iskowitz Prize. She represented Canada with her project Music for Silence at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2013. Shary Boyle’s 2018 public sculpture commission Cracked Wheat sits on the front grounds of the Gardiner Museum in Toronto. Her work will be featured at the museum in a major solo exhibition opening in 2021.

JANE CORRIGAN’s paintings depict scenes drawn from her imagination. They evoke art history and popular culture – in particular the narrative forms of cinema and the novel, suggesting a kind of comic book impressionism. Jane Corrigan’s timeless works, always located in times and places that are difficult to determine, give her art a universal value. Corrigan’s paintings and drawings of women and girls explore interiority by way of self-referential allegories and parodies. Executed in a wet-to-wet method, her paintings are generated by first “getting to know” her subjects via oil studies, which she describes as a process of “chasing” her subjects down through brush marks. Within these studies and drawings, she discovers her characters for the works on canvas. Corrigan’s focus on solitary women and narrative came out of a desire to tease out a particular kind of female subjectivity.

Jane Corrigan (b. 1980 Shawville, Canada) studied fine arts at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (BFA 2003), attended Yale Norfolk Summer School of Art (2002), and completed graduate studies at SUNY Purchase (MFA 2009). Corrigan had solo exhibitions at White Columns, Kerry Schuss, Retrospective, Feuer/Mesler, and Marinaro (New York). Group shows include: Sikkema Jenkins, New York; Wilkinson Gallery, London; Karma, New York; and Oakville Galleries, Canada, among others. She was a recipient of the Louis Comfort Tiffany Award in 2013, and has been granted residencies at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and at the Marie Walsh Sharpe Space Program in Brooklyn, New York. Her work has been written about in various publications including the New York Times, Hyperallergic, Artforum, Art in America, ArtNews and the Brooklyn Rail.

Jane Corrigan, Shary Boyle

The Armory Show 2020

5.03 – 8.03 2020
The Armory Show 2020

SHARY BOYLE
JANE CORRIGAN

Pier 94
PRESENTS – Kiosque P8

5 – 8 mars, 2020
711 12th Avenue
New York, NY 10019

Pour sa toute première participation à The Armory Show, Bradley Ertaskiran est fière de présenter une sélection d’œuvres récentes de Shary Boyle et Jane Corrigan.

SHARY BOYLE intègre une variété de mediums dans sa pratique artistique, telle que la sculpture, le dessin, l’installation et la performance. Son travail considère l’histoire sociale des figurines en porcelaine, des mythologies animistes et des images issues de l’art populaire afin de créer un langage symbolique, féministe et politique qui lui est propre.

Les œuvres de Boyle sont exposées et collectionnées à une échelle internationale. Elle a notamment présenté ses œuvres dans le cadre de la Biennale internationale de céramique à Gyeonggi en Corée du Sud (2017), à la Esker Foundation à Toronto (2017), ainsi qu’au Centre culturel canadien de Paris (2018). En 2013, elle a représenté le Canada lors de la 55e Biennale de Venise, où elle a exposé son projet Music for Silence. Boyle a également été récipiendaire du prix dédié par la Hnatyshyn Foundation, ainsi que le prix Gershon Iskowitz. Son travail figure dans l’importante publication Vitamin C: Clay and Ceramic in Contemporary Art, publiée par Phaidon. En 2018, l’artiste a conçu et installé une sculpture d’art publique intitulée Cracked Wheat suite à une commission de la part du Gardiner Museum à Toronto. Elle y présentera d’ailleurs son travail dans le cadre d’une exposition personnelle d’envergure en 2021.

Les tableaux de JANE CORRIGAN dépeignent des scènes issues de son imagination. Ils font référence à l’histoire de l’art et à la culture populaire, plus particulièrement aux formes narratives du cinéma et du roman, suggérant une sorte d’impressionnisme de la bande dessinée. Les œuvres intemporelles de Jane Corrigan, toujours situées à des époques et lieux difficiles à déterminer, confèrent à son travail une valeur universelle. Les portraits de femmes et de jeunes filles imaginés par Corrigan explorent le subconscient par le truchement d’allégories autoréférentielles et de parodies. Exécutées selon la technique du «au premier coup», l’artiste apprend d’abord à connaître ses sujets par le biais d’études à l’huile. Elle décrit ce processus comme une quête de ceux-ci grâce au tracé de son pinceau. C’est dans ces études et dessins qu’elle découvre les personnages qui se retrouveront dans ses œuvres sur toile. L’accent mis par Corrigan sur la narration et la représentation de femmes solitaires naît d’un désir de mettre en lumière un type singulier de féminité.

Jane Corrigan (née en 1980 à Shawville, Canada) a étudié les beaux-arts à la Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (BFA 2003), à la Yale Norfolk Summer School of Art (2002) et au SUNY Purchase (MFA 2009). Parmi les expositions personnelles de Jane Corrigan, on compte les galeries new-yorkaises White Columns, Kerry Schuss, Retrospective, Feuer/Mesler et Marinaro. Son travail a également été présenté lors d’expositions collectives au Sikkema Jenkins (New York), à la Wilkinson Gallery (Londres), au Karma (New York) et aux Oakville Galleries (Oakville, Ontario). Elle est lauréate du prix Louis Comfort Tiffany (2013) et a effectué des résidences au Fine Arts Work Center de Provincetown et au Marie Walsh Sharpe Space Program à Brooklyn, New York. Son travail a fait l’objet d’articles dans de nombreuses publications, dont le New York Times, Hyperallergic, Artforum, Art in America, ArtNews et le Brooklyn Rail.