Kim Dorland

Landscapes, Colour and a Portrait

20.01 – 26.02 2022
Landscapes, Colour and a Portrait

January 20 – February 26, 2022

Bradley Ertaskiran is thrilled to present Landscapes, Colour and a Portrait, a solo exhibition by Canadian painter Kim Dorland. The exhibition features a collection of new paintings that reflect Dorland’s experimental approach, creating scenes made of a buildup of thick layers of oil paint in vibrant pigments, whose effect is above all visceral.

Dorland’s landscape paintings are a testament to the artist’s dedication to colour. Dorland explores the way one saturated hue interacts with another, tipping the scales between jarring and harmonious, always eliciting a certain ambiance. White gluttonous paint strokes turned trees are stacked atop a bright pink background that hums and vibrates like a fluorescent light. Billowing ominous smoke swells across an orange sky, the smell of singed debris hanging in the air. Dorland’s landscapes are not a distinct place or setting; they are about the tension in the act of viewing, the aura exuded from colour, depth, and texture.

Yet despite this aversion to realism, Dorland’s landscapes reflect the tension of the moment, harnessing the global shift from climate emergency as a mere worry to a tangible reality. If the job of Master Landscape Painters of the past—Tom Thomson, Emily Carr, both influential to Dorland—was to reflect nature to the viewer as-is, in all its unalterable majesty, what is the contemporary painter’s role against today’s environmental realities? To paint things as they are changing, the stark image of a world ablaze, or to reference what once was or could be? 

For Dorland, the effects of a changing world are implicit in his landscapes; they are neither comforting, nor a call to action, not hopeful, but not perilous. Dorland’s paintings do not attempt to depict a finished thought or mission, but rather portray the artist’s broad, messy concerns for a turbulent time.

Kim Dorland was born in Wainwright and lives and works in Toronto. Dorland has exhibited extensively throughout Canada and internationally. Solo exhibitions have been presented in cultural institutions such as the McMichael Canadian Art Collection (Vaughan), the Contemporary Calgary and the Museum of Contemporary Art Denver. Dorland’s work is found in public and corporate collections including Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art, Blanton Museum of Art (Austin), The Glenbow Museum (Calgary), Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego, and numerous private collections in Europe, the United States and Canada.

To consult Kim Dorland’s profile, click here.

Kim Dorland

Landscapes, Colour and a Portrait

20.01 – 26.02 2022
Landscapes, Colour and a Portrait

20 janvier – 26 février 2022

Bradley Ertaskiran a l’immense plaisir de présenter Landscapes, Color and a Portrait, une exposition solo du peintre canadien Kim Dorland. Ce nouveau corpus d’œuvres témoigne de l’approche expérimentale de l’artiste, construisant des scènes viscérales à partir d’une accumulation d’épaisses couches de peinture à l’huile aux pigments vibrants.

Les paysages de Kim Dorland mettent en lumière sa prédilection pour les couleurs. L’artiste explore la manière dont une teinte saturée interagit avec une autre, mêlant discordance et harmonie et installant une atmosphère singulière. Des coups de peinture blancs opulents, devenus arbres, s’empilent sur un fond rose vif bourdonnant et vibrant telle une lumière fluorescente. Une fumée sinistre tourbillonne sur un ciel orange, tandis qu’une odeur de débris roussis flotte dans l’air. Les paysages de Kim Dorland ne font pas référence à un lieu précis; ils portent sur les tensions inhérentes à l’acte de regarder, sur l’aura se dégageant de la couleur, de la profondeur et de la texture.

En dépit de l’aversion de l’artiste pour le réalisme, les œuvres de Kim Dorland témoignent tout de même des préoccupations de notre époque, capturant la transition globale en matière d’appréhension de l’urgence climatique: d’une simple inquiétude, elle est devenue une réalité tangible. Si le travail des artistes paysagistes du passé — Tom Thomson, Emily Carr, des influences majeures pour l’artiste — était de dépeindre la nature telle qu’elle est, dans toute sa majesté inaltérable, quel est le rôle des artistes peintres contemporain.e.s face aux réalités environnementales d’aujourd’hui ? Saisir les choses dans leur état de transformation, transmettre l’image saisissante d’un monde embrasé, ou documenter ce qui a été ou ce qui pourrait être?

Les effets d’un monde en transition sont implicites dans le travail de l’artiste ; les paysages de celui-ci ne sont ni un baume au cœur, ni un appel à l’action. Ils ne sont pas optimistes, mais pas non plus désespérés. Les peintures de Kim Dorland ne tentent pas d’incarner une pensée précise ou de prescrire une mission, mais représentent plutôt les préoccupations vastes de l’artiste en ces temps turbulents. 

Kim Dorland. né à Wainwright, vit et travaille à Toronto. Dorland a exposé à travers le Canada et à l’international. Il a présenté son travail dans plusieurs institutions culturelles telles que la McMichael Canadian Art Collection (Vaughan), Contemporary Calgary et le Museum of Contemporary Art Denver. Ses œuvres se trouvent dans des collections publiques telles que le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, The Blanton Museum of Art (Austin), The Glenbow Museum (Calgary), Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego ainsi que de nombreuses collections privées en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Pour consulter le profil de Kim Dorland, veuillez cliquer ici.