Celia Perrin Sidarous

Flotsam

11.02 – 13.03 2021
Flotsam

We are following a trail of something familiar, a collection of increasingly inward looks compelled by exterior consequences – a gesture, a marble, a mirror, a colour, something we read. The resulting tilts of perspective buoy, cast or recast our memories. The language of this process is the knotted, scrutable, always economical, language of Things. This language’s diacritics are temporal. It vibrates in preternatural concord with the autonomy of its speakers. Some of us speak it fluently. It is not deterministic.

The trail is not static and it is not a record – it is a combination of arrangement, pressure and intuition, inflected by time. We know about time, sitting and looking at what’s been washing up from our lives and others. We also might attempt a kind of –mancy with what’s found. How to hold it. How to preen it. Or wield it. For how long. Hydromancy. Amathomancy. Some of us are Mancers. 

If these compulsions are temporary, they are also agglutinative. They compose, leak into and onto one another when they liaise on a surface. Time binds them together, forming a present tense from a series of past notes to self, intending to draw the memory back to a dulling marker, to pull up the rope and disentangle the jetsam from the net. These notes are both personal and im-; they are on purpose. Breadcrumbs. A map. They are also (like their capture) carefully eventually, unmaking themselves.

There is something else here. Previously deemed derelict, maybe mistaken as noise, fog, murk, mollusks. A dredging here of what’s always been there. Submerged things become gathering places for sea moss, seaweed, brightly colored comb clips, a wide hinge, a clam, a translucent ghost or a string of bubbles, pearls from a round orifice-come-live. By gathering on an erosive surface they become evocative of something forgotten. Remember:

Object is a natal tongue; the tongue a cork jacket. We got here by floating.

— Danielle St-Amour, January 2021

On the occasion of their simultaneous solo exhibitions Celia Perrin Sidarous and Marie-Michelle Deschamps have created several collaborative works that are installed throughout the gallery’s auxiliary spaces.

Celia Perrin Sidarous (1982) is an image-based artist living and working in Montréal. Her works have been featured in numerous solo and collective exhibitions in Canada and abroad : McCord Museum and Centre CLARK (Montréal), Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery (Tokyo), Norsk Billedhoggerforening (Oslo), CONTACT Photography Festival (Toronto) and FOCUS Photography Festival (Mumbai), 8-11 (Toronto), Arsenal Contemporary (New York), Esker Foundation (Calgary), Dunlop Art Gallery (Regina), Banff Centre (Banff), WWTWO (Montréal), VU (Québec) and Gallery 44 (Toronto). Her work was included in the Biennale de Montréal 2016 – Le Grand Balcon / The Grand Balcony, at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. She was longlisted for the Sobey Art Award in 2019, and is the recipient of the Prix Pierre-Ayot 2017, as well as the Barbara Spohr Memorial Award 2011. Her works are present in public and private collections, notably at the AGO — Art Gallery of Ontario, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal.

Bradley Ertaskiran acknowledges SODEC’s support in organizing this exhibition.

To consult the artist’s profile, please click here.

Celia Perrin Sidarous

Flotsam

11.02 – 13.03 2021
Flotsam

Nous suivons la piste d’une chose familière, une collection de regards de plus en plus tournés vers l’intérieur, contraints par des éléments externes — un geste, une bille, un miroir, une couleur, une lecture récente. Les changements de perspective qui en résultent convoquent, transforment ou maintiennent à flot nos souvenirs. Le langage de ce processus est le langage enchevêtré, observable, toujours économe, des choses. Les signes diacritiques de ce langage sont temporels. Ses vibrations s’accordent de manière particulière avec l’autonomie de ceux et celles qui le parlent. Certain.e.s d’entre nous le parlent couramment. Il n’est pas déterministe.

La piste n’est ni statique, ni une archive — elle est plutôt une combinaison d’agencements, de pressions et d’intuitions, infléchie par le temps. Nous savons ce qu’est le temps, alors que nous sommes assis.e.s et contemplons ce qui s’échoue, traces de nos vies et de celles des autres. Nous pourrions également nous essayer à une sorte de —mancie avec ce que nous avons trouvé. Comment le tenir, le porter ou le lisser. Comment le manipuler. Pendant combien de temps. Hydromancie. Amathomancie. Certain.e.s d’entre nous sont enclin.e.s à la divination.

Si ces compulsions sont temporaires, elles sont aussi agglutinantes. Elles composent, s’infiltrent les unes dans les autres lorsqu’elles forment des liens à même une surface. Le temps les lie, formant un présent à partir d’une série d’annotations adressées à soi-même, dans l’intention de ramener la mémoire à un marqueur terne, de remonter la corde et de dégager l’épave du filet. Ces notes sont à la fois personnelles et im-; elles sont faites exprès. Des miettes. Une carte. Éventuellement et tout comme leur capture, elles se défont soigneusement.

Il y a autre chose ici. Auparavant considéré comme désaffecté ou confondu — un bruit, un brouillard, obscurité, mollusques. Un dragage de ce qui a toujours été là. Les choses submergées deviennent lieux de rencontre pour mousses de mer, algues marines, pinces à cheveux aux couleurs vives, une large charnière, une palourde, un fantôme translucide ou un chapelet de bulles, de perles provenant d’un orifice rond qui prend vie. En se rassemblant sur une surface en érosion, ces objets deviennent évocateurs. Souvenez-vous:

L’objet est une langue maternelle; la langue, une veste de liège. Nous sommes arrivé.e.s ici en flottant.

– Danielle St-Amour, janvier 2021

À l’occasion de leur exposition respective, Celia Perrin Sidarous et Marie-Michelle Deschamps ont créé plusieurs œuvres collaboratives installées dans les espaces intermédiaires de la galerie.

Celia Perrin Sidarous (1982) est une artiste de l’image qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Ses œuvres ont fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives notamment au  Musée McCord et au Centre CLARK (Montréal), à la Galerie Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada (Tokyo), au Norsk Billedhoggerforening (Oslo), au CONTACT Photography Festival (Toronto) et au FOCUS Photography Festival (Mumbai), à 8-11 (Toronto), Arsenal Contemporary (New York), Esker Foundation (Calgary), Dunlop Art Gallery (Regina), Banff Centre (Banff), WWTWO (Montréal), VU (Québec) et Gallery 44 (Toronto). Son travail a fait partie de la Biennale de Montréal 2016 – Le Grand Balcon, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. En 2019, elle est nominée au Prix Sobey pour les arts. Elle est lauréate du Prix Pierre-Ayot 2017 ainsi que de la bourse Barbara Spohr Memorial Award 2011. Ses œuvres figurent au sein de collections publiques et privées, dont celles de la AGO – Art Gallery of Ontario, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal.

Pour consulter le profil de l’artiste, veuillez cliquer ici.